3rd Cdn Ranger Patrol Group Carl Wolfe www.forces.gc.ca
Atlantic Marine Trades Pat Nelder www.boatinginatlanticcanada.com
BC Marine Trades Association Kim Barbero www.bcmta.com
Boating BC Lisa Geddes www.boatingbc.ca
Boater Skills.ca Craig Hamilton www.boaterskills.ca
Boating Ontario Rick Layzell www.boatingontario.ca
Better Boating Safe Boat Training® Todd Powis www.betterboating.ca
BOATsmart! Canada Cameron Taylor www.boatsmart.com
Canadian Coast Guard Center & Articque Sylvain Vézina
Canadian Forces Cadets Brenda Reeve www.forces.gc.ca
Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons Mal Blann www.cps-ecp.ca
Canadian Red Cross Clara Reinhardt www.redcross.ca
Cook-Rees Memorial Fund Loreena McKennitt www.quinlanroad.com
Cottage Life Liann Bobechko www.cottagelife.com
Council of BC Yacht Clubs Norm Dyck www.cbcyachtclubs.ca
Federation of Ontario Cottagers (FOCA) Terry Rees www.foca.on.ca
Georgian Bay Association Bob Duncanson www.georgianbayassociation.com
Georgian College Carol Record www.marinetraining.ca
Helly Hansen Canada David Finlayson  
Icom Canada Jim Backeland www.icomcanada.com
ISPA Inc. Kelly Moloney  
Lifesaving Society - Ontario Barbara Byers www.lifesaving.ca
Livin' the Dream Incorporated Shahan Helvadjian
Manitoba Coalition for Safer Waters Carl Shier  
MARIN Research Group Ronald Pelot  
Metroland Media Group Craig Ritchie www.boatingbusiness.com
Mid-Canada Marine & Powersports Kim Wozniak www.canadamarinedealers.com
Mustang Survival Corp. Rick Cassels www.mustangsurvival.com
National Safe Boating Council Joyce Shaw www.safeboatingcouncil.org
NMMA Canada Sara Anghel www.cmma.ca
Ontario Power Generation Bill McKinlay www.opg.com
Ontario Provincial Police Karen Harrington www.opp.ca
Pacific Yachting Mark Collett www.pacificyachting.com
Paddle Canada Graham Ketcheson www.paddlingcanada.com
Play Safe Productions Ted Rankine www.coldwaterbootcamp.com
RCMP Marine South Island Integrated Larry Jacobs  
Robertson & Robertson Yacht Ins Ltd Drew Robertson www.skippersplan.com
Safe and Quiet Lakes Frances Carmichael www.safequiet.ca
Sail Canada Michael Vollmer www.sailing.ca
Salus Marine Wear Steve Wagner www.salusmarine.com
Stearns (A Division of Coleman Canada) Ezio Sbrizzi www.stearnsflotation.com
South Simcoe Police Service Steve Wilson  
Transport Canada Office of Boating Safety Marc Garneau www.safeboating.gc.ca
Transportation Safety Board Canada Mélanie Comte www.tsb.gc.ca
Yamaha Motor Company Timothy Kennedy www.yamaha-motor.ca
York Regional Police Service Peter Heard  

Individual Members

Craig Beaton John Gullick Al Will Erik Jorgensen Kathryn Goodyear
Shelley Dalke Dorit Girash George Will Mike Wade John Stein
Susan Daly Cynthia Hodgson David Scott Chris Foster Brenda Young
Frank Denis Ron Kroeker Darren Day Wes Aigro Kon Oh
Irwin Doxsee Bob Minielly Darren Muntak Rick Stoltz John McMullen
Kristopher Drodge Jean Murray Coralie Nairn Mikel Cantryn Robert Dupel
Bill Taylor Ephraim Nowak Alison Harle Ted Fortuna Denis Vallée
Raphael Nowak Geoff Gowe Ian Gilson Vahé Vassilian Dan Schlosser
Ron Golling William Griswold Michael Vollmer Steve Garrett Glen Paley

Sponsors

BoaterExam.com Larry McNamee BOATsmart! Canada
Cameron Taylor Cook-Rees Memorial Fund Loreena McKennitt
Canadian Recreational Products Ron Carpentier Mustang Survival
Rick Cassels Ontario Power Generation Bill McKinlay
Port Metro Vancouver Natalie Anderson Salus Marine Wear
Steve Wagner Stearns (Divison of Coleman) Ezio Sbrizzi
Yamaha Motor Canada Tim Kennedy Zodiac Hurricane Technologies
John MacKillop    

Media Partners

Boatguide Boating Business
Boating Industry Cottage Life
Canadian Yachting Pacific Yachting

Partners

National Search & Rescue Secretariat Transport Canada Office of Boating Safety

5 Key Steps to Safer Boating

5 steps lifejacket

Wear Your Lifejacket

Legally you must carry one on board, appropriately sized for each passenger. But don’t just carry it, WEAR IT.

5 steps lifejacket

Boat Sober

Boating under the influence of alcohol, recreational drugs or prescription narcotics, is illegal, irresponsible and potentially deadly. Leave any such substances until you return to the dock.

5 steps lifejacket

Take a Boating Course

The law now requires that anyone driving a motorized boat must have a pleasure-craft operator card. It’s for your own safety and that of your passengers. Don’t get caught without one. Take a course and get your license!

5 steps lifejacket

Prepare Your Vessel

Ensure your boat has all the required safety gear and sufficient fuel. Be sure the weather is suitable for your vessel’s capabilities.

5 steps lifejacket

Be Cold Water Safe

Cold water is a significant risk. Learn how to protect yourself.